bow hunting

slip_knot

I know some of the posters here go hunting as I have seen a few photos. So, do any of you go out hunting with a bow ? And if so, do you think it would be possible to bring a wild boar down with a bow and arrow ?

Now, you don't need to tell me how dangerous a wild boar can be, hell, thats part of the excitement. I just want to know if its been done.

I've just bought a compound bow with a draw weight of 40 lbs. I'm a complete newby at this but I'm guessing thats enough penetration power.

Hit it in the leg NO run like hell. Hit it in a vital organ and get your picture taken.:cool:

Maybe you should practice on a pig first.;)

Don't go for a head shot ever. 40 lbs is a bit light on, but if you hit the chest and open a lung you can do it. Practice loading and firing very ****ing quickly, or shoot from a stand in a tree.

The one and only time I shot a boar with an arrow (compound 55 lbs) it was charging straight at me, and arrow opened up its forehead and it just kept coming.

If you want to actually hunt these ****ers on foot, have a very sharp machete in a shoulder holster, so you can do a Conan on the critter if your arrow fails to make the mark. Oh, and wear some ball protection, like a cricketer's ball-cup. :cool:

Last edited by a moderator:
40lbs. might be a bit light. How much do your arrows weigh? Hogs have a thick spot of cartilage behind the front shoulder, that has to be penetrated. In order to do it you should penetrate both lungs. This will kill the animal quickly. Where are you going to hunt boar? Ted Nugent has killed most of his animals with a 50lb compound.

When hunting any big game with a bow you should have someone backing you up with a rifle. Not only because they might charge you but you want to make sure you drop him. You don’t want to be traipsing around the woods looking for a wounded animal.

hopeUslide said: